Blog Post #10

I plan to use flash cards to help my students learn their vocabulary words for the week, as well as a way to help them practice their math skills, such as multiplication tables. Flash cards are super convenient to use and very efficient in quickly becoming familiar with new material. After they become familiar with the information, I could have them play games on the computer that incorporate the information they just learned in a fun way so that they remember it better. Once they know the material pretty well, I could give them worksheets that make them apply the knowledge they just learned.

An interesting web-based resource that I will probably use when teaching is YouTube. YouTube has gobs of fun videos that I can use in the classroom to supplement material such as learning the names of all the planets, the different states of matter, how to remember your multiplication tables, how to tell time, etc. in ways that engage the students and get them excited to learn. Here is a link to YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/

A nice thing about YouTube is that it is very easy to use and that my students could even watch videos on their own at home and then talk about it the next day in class. With how much technology has progressed from when I was in elementary school, I can only imagine what will be available for my students to use.

I plan to use Excel and programs like it in my future as a teacher. I think that it would be a great tool to use to keep grades organized and easy to calculate averages in upper level grades, such as tenth and eleventh, but it will also be advantageous in the lower level grades, such as third and fourth, when keeping track of data for science projects, who brought what school supplies, attendance, Microsoft Office Word will be helpful to use when planning lesson plans because it will be easy to organize and make small changes year to year. Programs like Diigo will help me organize any articles, ideas, etc. that I find online and want to look back at later.

I really enjoyed doing the assignment last week on PowerPoint. I enjoyed learning new skills and new ways to utilize PowerPoint. I think that knowing how to create a non-linear PowerPoint is a valuable skill as an educator because it allows you to create jeopardy games, interactive story quizzes, and much more for your students. It opens the door to a whole new way to engage your students while teaching them a lesson. I could improve on it next time by venturing more into the complex aspects of non-linear PowerPoints instead of just sticking to the basics.

Blogs I commented on:

https://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/82860287/

https://rachelsinclair4.wordpress.com/2015/03/29/blog-10/comment-page-1/#comment-39

hp ppt

Leave a comment